UEFA Makes Decision on Referee in Barcelona’s Win Over PSG


Source
According to UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin, the referee who took charge of Barcelona’s historic win over PSG will not be suspended for his controversial performance. There was an official complaint from the Paris club to punish Deniz Aytekin, who refereed the match, but nothing will come out of it.

Speaking to AFP, Ceferin said, “We will not suspend the referee from that match, referees are not suspended.” He continued, “When something doesn’t go well, we discuss it — but it is not a matter for suspension.” He gave a more understandable example for fans to relate, explaining, “That would be like suspending a player who missed a penalty kick when he should simply go to the bench if he misses many penalty shots.”

PSG defeated Barcelona 4-0 in the first leg of Champions League round of 16 clash, and entered the second leg in Camp Nou as clear favorites. However, two penalties and many other arguable decisions saw the Catalans enjoy a 6-1 win. Luis Suarez’s alleged dive for Barcelona’s second penalty, Javier Mascherano’s foul on Angel Di Maria, a penalty not given for Mascherano’s first-half handball, and Gerard Pique not receiving a second yellow card were among many calls PSG aren’t happy with.

Meanwhile, Ceferin also said at the Football Talks conference in Lisbon that European football should consider more restraints on spending, squad limits and changes to the transfer system to stop rich clubs from dominating. He warned that UEFA “needs to be prepared” to tackle issues such as the decrease in competitive balance within European clubs.

YOU MAY LIKE